Helping Others Recognize the Spirit

Reading: “Helping Others Recognize the Whisperings of the Spirit,” Vicki F. Matsumori, Second Counselor in the Primary General Presidency

I often think about how I can teach my children to love the gospel.  Sometimes when I see the world around us I feel what I can do is inadequate to counter the outside pressures my children will face as they grow older.  In this talk Sister Matsumori gives several suggestions of ways we can help our children and others recognize the Spirit in their life.  These include:

  • Help them understand doctrine
  • Share your personal testimony
  • Provide an environment where the Spirit can be felt

This talk helped remind me that what I am trying to do is not so much force feed my testimony into my children’s heads, but rather to help them grow their own testimony.  A testimony will come from the Spirit witnessing to them personally. Their feeling the Spirit is something I can do much to encourage, but it is not something I can directly control. The Spirit is the source of testimony, and it is only through the Spirit that they can see the truthfulness of the things I want to teach them.

How do you help your children, or the people in your life, recognize the Spirit? What did your parents, or teachers, or others do that helped your testimony grow?

1 comment so far

  1. chococatania on

    Good post – getting the Spirit is so important.

    One thing that has helped me to recognize the Spirit is keeping a spiritual/scripture journal. Recording and pondering the spiritual things in my life helps me to better recognize and remember them.

    Thanks for the post. It’s a good reminder – to have the spirit, and to teach our little ones to have it, too.


Leave a Reply

