Inspired of God

Reading: “Welcome to Conference,” President Thomas S. Monson, October 2009 General Conference, Saturday Morning Session

It’s that time again! For the past two conferences I have enjoyed writing about each of the conference talks, and so I am planning on doing the same thing again starting today for the October conference.  Today I read President Monson’s welcome to conference, where one quote in particular stood out:

Those who will address us have sought heaven’s help and direction as they have prepared their messages. They have been impressed concerning that which they will share with us. That we may be filled with the Spirit of the Lord as we listen and learn is my prayer.

Last Sunday in Sunday School we had a discussion about how lucky we are to have inspired guidance by the prophets.  After the many times I have felt the Spirit touch me as I listen to General Conference, I know that the speakers sincerely seek the inspiration of God as they prepare their talks.  This year we had a big event that kept us from watching most of conference live, so I am excited to get to read what each person had to say as I review this last conference.

What were your favorite moments of conference? If you had to pick a particular talk to review, which would you pick?

1 comment so far

  1. chococatania on

    I just came across this blog today, and I’m so glad that I did. I’m always looking for good “Scripture Study” blogs.

    Before I start sounding like some spam commenter, I’ll answer your question.

    My favorite moments of conference: obviously, Jeffrey R. Holland’s talk on the Book of Mormon. He just always says the most powerful things. I love his talks.

    I also loved Elder Bednar’s talk – about family. I thought that he gave such wise advice. Of course, I also loved Elder Uchtdorf’s talk. Anyways.

    I still need to re-read the talks. It is amazing what is learned when reading them.
    Thanks again for this post!


Leave a Reply

