Mind the Gap

Reading: “Mind the Gap,” Barbara Thompson, Second Counselor in the Relief Society General Presidency, General Relief Society Meeting, October 2009

In London, England subway stations “Mind the Gap” is painted on the ground in front of the gap between the platform and the train. This wonderfully British phrase helps remind riders to be careful of this potetially dangerous gap. In her talk Sister Thompson uses this as a metaphor to encourage us to be careful of the gaps in our own lives.

The gap she spoke about that most struck me was the gap between believing that God loves us and really knowing that we are beloved daughters of God.  When I  think of all the ways that I fall short of perfection, or at least my ideals of where I would like to be, I start to think that God could not possibly love me because I am so imperfect.  Sister Thompson assures us this is not the case:

You need to know that there is nothing that can “separate [you] from the love of Christ.” The scriptures clearly tell us that no tribulation, distress, persecution, power, nor any other creature can separate us from the love of God.

God has done so much for us up to this point, not because we have been perfect, but because he loves us as his children.  My little toddler makes mistakes all the time, and while in my imperfection I might get frustrated with her, I never stop loving her because of them.  On the contrary, some of the times I feel the love for my daughter the greatest is when I see her try and try to do something, keep failing, and then finally succeed.  God also loves me the same way – as a Father helping a child reach his or her potential, not as a human resources manager evaluating my performance as the sum of my worth.

What gaps in your life need your attention? Some other gaps she mentioned were gaps between testimony and obedience, and between Young Women and Relief Society. What can you do to help take better care of those gaps?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

