Purposes of the Relief Society

Reading: “Relief Society: A Sacred Work,” Julie B. Beck, Relief Society General President, General Relief Society Meeting, October 2009

In the General Relief Society Meeting about a week ago, Sister Beck, the president of Relief Society, reminded us of the three main purposes of the relief society, which are:

  1. Help sisters increase their faith and personal righteousness.
  2. Help sisters strengthen their families and homes.
  3. Help sisters serve the Lord and his children.

She then talked about the various ways the relief society does this, such as through relief society meetings, through visiting teaching, and through service.

Hearing the purposes of relief society help me be more motivated to attend and participate.  Sometimes it seems like relief society is for socializing, or entertaining, or even a competition. When I lose sight of the real purpose of relief society I often get discouraged because I’m not particularly good at socializing, or entertaining, and I always seem (at least in my mind) to be behind other more spiritual and friendly sisters in my ward. Yet, the purpose of relief society is centered on the gospel and on service.  It is okay that I may not be the “best” because relief society is truly about helping all the sisters wherever they are at in life.

What side purposes sometimes distract you from the real purpose of the relief society? How do you keep the true purposes of the relief society in your heart?

1 comment so far

  1. Michaela Stephens on

    One thing I have troubles with is feeling like I have to sign up for every service thing and feeling like I’m not doing my part if I don’t. I have to keep reminding myself that I need to be careful not to run faster than I have strength or time or means.


Leave a Reply

