God Grants Our Desires

Reading: Alma 29

As I was reading today I was particularly struck with the following verses, teaching that God grants us what we desire:

I ought not to harrow up in my desires, the firm decree of a just God, for I know that he granteth unto men according to their desire, whether it be unto death or unto life; yea, I know that he allotteth unto men, yea, decreeth unto them decrees which are unalterable, according to their wills, whether they be unto salvation or unto destruction. Yea, and I know that good and evil have come before all men; he that knoweth not good from evil is blameless; but he that knoweth good and evil, to him it is given according to his desires, whether he desireth good or evil, life or death, joy or remorse of conscience.

Two things struck me:

  1. God grants us what we desire, whether it is “unto death or life” or whether it will make us happy or sad.
  2. God protects those who do not know the principles of the gospel by not granting them their desires.

In a way, this is really quite scary, because it makes me examine what it is I really desire out of life? Is it serving others? Is it centering my family on the Savior? Or is it a clean house or status or wealth? Just like anyone else, I have many desires competing for my attention, but I hope I am giving the greatest place to those desires that are truly the greatest.

In another way, though, this is comforting because it shows that God recognizes what it is I truly want to do, even when I may not be fully capable of achieving it. God knows that Earth life is challenging and that we are not perfect yet, so he takes into account our intentions. Of course, God is too wise to fall for the claim that although I didn’t actually work for something, I wanted it anyway – after all, you work for those things you want the most.

Today I am going to examine my desires and watch to see what desires come up the most in my mind during the day.

What desires have you been pursuing lately? Are your desires in line with the gospel principles you know and understand?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

