Sharing the Gospel

Reading: Alma 17

I often feel that I don’t do enough to share the gospel.  A big part of the reason I feel this way is that I am really quite a shy person and have trouble talking to people at all, let alone talking to people about something that means so much to me.

Another reason, though, is that I fear being insincere.  I fear that if I treat missionary work as another item to check off my list that people will think I don’t really care about them so much as I care about being a “good missionary.”

As I was reading about Ammon’s mission to the Lamanites, I realized that I fear this too much. In verses 27 and 29 it says:

Therefore, as Ammon and the servants of the king were driving forth their flocks to this place of water, behold, a certain number of the Lamanites, who had been with their flocks to water, stood and scattered the flocks of Ammon and the servants of the king, and they scattered them insomuch that they fled many ways. . . Now  [Ammon’s fellow shepherds] wept because of the fear of being slain. Now when Ammon saw this his heart was swollen within him with joy; for, said he, I will show forth my power unto these my fellow-servants, or the power which is in me, in restoring these flocks unto the king, that I may win the hearts of these my fellow-servants, that I may lead them to believe in my words.

Ammon was joyful at the chance to show others the power of God and thus win their hearts to the gospel. When we interact with others we should serve them and be friendly whether or not they accept the gospel: this is what the Savior taught, to love everyone. Yet it is not wrong to be happy to have the chance to share the gopsel, and it is not bad to help someone with the mindset that maybe you can help them see the power of God in your actions. If we truly love the gospel, and we truly love other people, then our desire to share the gospel will be sincere, and by sharing the gospel we will sincerely be trying to help our friends.

Today I am going to write in my journal about this insight and brainstorm a few ways I might be able to apply it to situations I encounter.

Are you ever scared of appearing manipulative or insincere as you share your testimony with others? What do you think helps others see your sincerity and your true desire only to help?

1 comment so far

  1. Mary on

    visit thewayofthemaster.com

    It answers all those doubts and fears about sharing your faith. Take it one day and one person at a time. Pray that God will open the door and that when he does that you will be aware through the power of the Holy Spirit how and what to say.


Leave a Reply

