Looking for Peace

Reading: D&C 19:23, Matthew 11:29

All of us are looking for some kind of peace.  There are many different approaches to finding peace, such as finding peace in material possessions, finding peace in recognition, finding peace in performance, finding peace in entertainment, and so on. Sometimes as I search for peace, without even realizing it, I start looking for peace in the wrong places.  The scriptures tell us there is only one good place to search for peace. In Doctrine & Covenants 19:23 it states:

Learn of me, and listen to my words; walk in the meekness of my Spirit, and you shall have peace in me.

Today I’m going to watch the way of think and try to spot what I am thinking will give me peace.  Like, am I watching this TV show because I think it will help me have peace when maybe something else is better? Am I thinking that I will have peace if only I can get my house totally clean? Am I really looking for peace in the right places?

How does the gospel bring you peace? Do you sometimes start looking for peace in the wrong places?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

