Questions For A Better You

Reading: Alma 5

Every time I read Alma chapter 5 I remember learning about this chapter in Seminary. I this chapter Alma asks question after question designed to encourage you to repent and become a better person. My teacher told us that anytime she was feeling like she was out of whack she would read through Alma 5 and answer all the questions.

Here are just a few of the questions Alma asks in Alma 5:

  • And now behold, I ask of you, my brethren of the church, have ye spiritually been born of God? (verse 14)
  • I say unto you, can ye look up to God at that day with a pure heart and clean hands? (verse 19)
  • And now behold, I say unto you, my brethren, if ye have experienced a change of heart, and if ye have felt to sing the song of redeeming love, I would ask, can ye feel so now? (verse 27)
  • And again I say unto you, is there one among you that doth make a mock of his brother, or that heapeth upon him persecutions? (verse 30)
  • And now if ye are not the sheep of the good shepherd, of what fold are ye? (verse 39)
  • Yea, and will you persist in turning your backs upon the poor, and the needy, and in withholding your substance from them? (verse 55)

In Alma 5 it seems like Alma covers every area in which we can improve. When I read this chapter and take the questions personally, I often find one or two areas where I can improve. Some of the questions (such as “Are you a murderer?) don’t apply to me, but some help me renew my commitment to living the gospel.

Today I am going to write in my journal about my renewed commitment to living the gospel, and what I can do to better answer Alma’s questions.

When you read Alma’s chapter are there any questions that stand out to you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

