GPS For the Soul

Reading: “Gifts to Help Us Navigate Our Life,” Elder Jose A. Teixera of the Seventy, April 2009 General Conference, Sunday Afternoon Session

As we travel we have many tools that help us find our way.  We use maps and now we have GPS which can tell us exactly where we are at any time.  In order for GPS to work, though, it has to be linked up to the satellites that calculate your position.  Without that link your GPS is worthless.

Elder Teixera tells us that GPS is similar to many gifts of the Spirit we have to find our way through life.  These gifts include:

  • The light of Christ
  • The Holy Ghost
  • Prophets

Each of these things can help us find our way, but only if we pay attention to them and remain worthy of the Spirit’s assistance.  Elder Teixera tells us:

I testify that our Father in Heaven is mindful of each one of us, that He listens to and answers our prayers, and that He communicates with His prophets to guide us. As we develop our faith to believe and live the words of prophets, we will strengthen our testimony of the plan of happiness and the central role of Jesus Christ in it.

When I listen to the Holy Ghost and to the prophets it certainly helps me in my life.  Sometimes I get distracted, often by things that are good in their own right, but are inferior to listening to and following the Spirit.  When I remain humble and fix my attention on the Savior and what he would have me do I am always blessed.

Today I am going to pray for help listening to the Spirit’s prompting and staying focused on what God would have me focused on.

What role has these gifts played in your life?  What can you do to help keep your link with God?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

