Accepting Change

Reading: “Get On With Our Lives,” Elder Steven E. Snow of the Presidency of the Seventy, April 2009 General Conference, Sunday Afternoon Session

Life is one continuous stream of changes.  Although we spend much of our time trying to keep things steady and the same, changes inevitably come for good or for bad.  In his talk Elder Snow encourages us to face change with faith and lists these four things we can do to be prepared for change:

  1. Follow the prophets
  2. Keep an eternal perspective
  3. Have faith
  4. Be of good cheer

Part of the test of our faith is how we will handle changes that are unexpected.  Elder Snow tells us,

What about the changes which are thrust upon us rather unexpectedly? These are changes over which we seemingly have no control. Economic downturn, unemployment, debilitating sickness or injury, divorce, and death are examples of change we do not expect, anticipate, or welcome. How do we deal with such unexpected setbacks in life’s journey?

The answer is the same. By listening to the prophets, keeping an eternal perspective, having faith, and being of good cheer, we can face life’s unexpected challenges and “get on with our lives.”

Currently we are in Provo, but at the end of the summer we are moving back to Colorado.  Although there are many things I enjoyed about Colorado, I am still a little sad to leave Provo behind.  I have become very familiar with Provo over the past four years and there are many things I love about it.  I still have much to get to know about Colorado, and so sometimes I silently wish we could just stay here.  Elder Snow’s talk has helped me to see that the main reason I am sad to leave is because I am still a little bit scared of the change, but that such changes can also bring great blessings.

Today I am going to write on my calendar the events that are going on here in Provo during the summer.  I want to enjoy the different things I love about Provo in order to be prepared to enjoy Colorado when we get there. As Elder Snow points out “being of good cheer” can help me deal with change.

What has helped you deal with the big changes in your life?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

