A New Apostle

Reading: “Come Unto Him,” Elder Neil A. Anderson of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, April 2009 General Conference, Sunday Morning Session

This last conference a new apostle was called, Elder Neil A. Anderson.  In his talk he bares his testimony of the church and of the general authorities.  At one point he says:

My dear brothers and sisters across the world, my knees are weak and my emotions close to the surface. I express my love for you and profoundly thank you for your sustaining vote. In so many dimensions, I feel inadequate and humbled.I take solace that in one qualification for the holy apostleship where there can be no latitude extended, the Lord has deeply blessed me. I do know with perfect and certain clarity through the power of the Holy Ghost that Jesus is the Christ, the Beloved Son of God.

Apostles are called first to bear testimony of Jesus Christ.  Although they also do much of the organizing and leadership work required for the church, their most important calling is to be a special witness of Christ.

Sometimes I forget that in the midst of all I do, it is the Savior that is most important.  It is only through Jesus Christ that we can be saved.  This humble testimony from a new apostle helps remind me to keep focused on the Savior.

Today I am going to think about the Savior whenever I can, and about what role he plays in my life.

What role does the Savior play in your life?  What happens when you forget the Savior?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

