A Time For Faith

Reading: “Be Your Best Self,” President Thomas S. Monson, April 2009 General Conference, Priesthood Session

In times of trouble many of us may start to fear the future.  After all, we believe that terrible things will happen before the second coming of Christ.  It is easy to forget that often troubles can also bring great blessings, and that we are also looking forward to an end of suffering in this earth life.  President Monson encourages us to choose faith over fear in this talk:

This is not a time for fear, brethren, but rather a time for faith—a time for each of us who holds the priesthood to be his best self.

President Monson then lists three simple ways for us to become that best version of ourselves.  These include:

  • Study dilligently
  • Pray fervently
  • Live righteously

President Monson’s advice was part of a main theme of the last conference, as far as I can tell.  Rather than become fearful and depressed about the troubles we face, we should use these times as a motivator to increase our faith an righteousness.  With faith we can face any trouble knowing that God is with us.

When bad things happen sometimes I especially feel the pain of my own weaknesses and shortcoming and rush into a flurry to fix my problems before they balloon out of control.  However, an attitude of faith for me means having faith that God will help me through my problems, that I can repent, and that I don’t have to fix everything right this second.  Sometimes having faith means believing that I am a daughter of God, and as such I have the potential to, over time, become like Him, even though right now that seems nearly impossible.

Today I am going to pray “fervently” for greater faith to see me through the current times of trouble in the world.

How does faith see you through times of trouble?  What exactly do you have faith in that helps you?  How can you increase your faith?  Of President Monson’s suggestions for self-improvement, what area do you need most to improve in?

1 comment so far

  1. Michaela Stephens on

    I think I’ve got the studying diligently going fairly well, but I think I need improvement on the praying fervently part. I’m also sure I could improve on the living righteously; I just have to figure out what specifically needs to improve.

    Faith always starts with faith in Christ. From there it expands to faith that church leaders are called of God and that their messages will prepare us for what is coming if we obey. Then, with obedience to the commandments I gain faith that the Lord is pleased with my efforts and faith that I will be supported through my trials and afflictions.

    Today I taught CTR 8s as a substitute in primary. I had faith that if I prepared as best I could, the Lord would help me teach and have a positive impact on the class.


Leave a Reply

