“I Take Pleasure in My Infirmities”

Reading: “The Power of Covenants,” Elder D. Todd Christofferson of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, April 2009 General Conference, Saturday Morning Session

Today I almost didn’t write a post because I am feeling grumpy and particularly un-spiritual.  The main reason for this is that we have been staying with my in-laws for the past week and a half waiting for our new apartment in Provo to open up, and I am very tired of being in someone’s else’s house, having to fit our family into a little bedroom, having to share someone else’s kitchen, chasing a very busy 1 year old in an un-babyproofed house, and all the other little unpleasantries that come with staying for long periods of time in a house that isn’t your own.  To top it off I’m coming down with some kind of cold, and it just makes everything harder to deal with. I am certainly aware that today I have a bad attitude about the whole thing, but knowing that is just making me feel worse.

As I was reading the talk for today, though, one scripture stood out to me.  This was 2 Corinthians 12:9-10:

And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in [my] infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

In the state of mind I am in, I found Paul’s statement “therefore will I rather glory in infirmities” fascinating.  How can anyone be glad about their own shortcomings, their own faults?  And yet, that is what Paul says, that he is grateful for the opportunity for Christ’s power to show in his life.  While I am angry that I can’t be more patient, Paul’s love of the Savior is so great that he welcomes any discomfort in order to give the Savior greater opportunity to shine.

Right now I am going to say a prayer in faith asking for God’s help to get me through the rest of the day.  Then I will watch to see how God blesses me.

What do you do on bad days to get through it?  Have you ever had a bad day that turned into a blessing because you were able to see God working in your life?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

