Thoughts from Conference

Reading: April 2009 General Conference

This past weekend was general conference for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.  Twice a year this conference is held and over two days we hear from leaders of the church talk on various topics.  It’s always a huge spiritual recharge for me, as I know it is for others.

In the coming weeks I’m going to go over each conference talk and write a little bit about it.

Today I just wanted to sum up some of the things that I learned or felt from listening to conference over the past coupld of days.

  • Trials are a part of a life, and they are an opportunity to focus ourselves even more on the things that matter most.
  • Material gain and possessions can be distractions from what really matters: our family, and our personal growth.
  • I feel the need to work harder at having regular family prayer and scripture study.
  • I also need to work more to make my home a place of peace, especially for myself, and for my family, rather than stressing so much about having a clean house, getting errands done, etc.

There were a lot more topics discussed, but those were the ones that were most important to me, personally.  My favorite talks were probably the ones by President Monson, President Uchtdorf, and the one that came after Elder Bednar’s talk which was about turning our homes toward the temple.

Today I am going to sit and plan out the next few weeks.  We’re leaving for the summer and there is a ton of stuff to do in the next 2 or 3 weeks.  I will definitely feel much more peaceful in my house if I’m able to get all that planned.  Once it is planned I will make sure to not worry any more about it and focus on my family.

What did you enjoy most about conference?  Were there any special promptings you had about areas you can improve?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

