Pacing Yourself

Reading: Mosiah 4:27, D&C 10:4

And I’m back!  A nasty flu is currently working its way through our house, and I’ve been a casualty for the past few days.  My husband has been a huge help in taking care of me and the baby while we’ve been sick, but now it’s my turn to do the supporting as my husband came down with the flu last night.

Being sick is not fun, but it has helped me realize how hard I’ve been on myself lately.  Sunday I was so miserable I stayed in bed all day, yet I still felt guilty for the things I didn’t do that day, such as cleaning the kitchen, making dinner, going to church, etc.  Eventually I realized it was silly to expect so much more of myself than I could possibly do and gave myself a break.

While I may expect myself to do much better than I am able, God only expects me to do my best.  In Mosiah 4:27 it says:

And see that all these things are done in wisdom and order; for it is not requisite that a man should run faster than he has strength. And again, it is expedient that he should be diligent, that thereby he might win the prize; therefore, all things must be done in order.

I often try to run faster than I have strength.  One of my biggest flaws is that I always want to do things bigger and better and more perfect, but as I let my goals balloon out of control they become unaccomplishable.  Over time, I get burned out and feel quite bad about myself.  I end up doing much worse than if I had just kept my goals at a reasonable level in the first place. I have to constantly remind myself that while I should be doing my best, I can’t do it all perfect right away.

Today I am still not totally 100%.  Plus, I have sick husband and baby to take care of.  So, I’m going to stick to only 3 goals: fold and put away the laundry, clean the shower, and call to make an appointment I’ve been putting off.  Until those three things are done I’m not allowed to get any ideas about getting the whole house clean, or reading a whole book, or any great exercise efforts, or any other things my brain keeps trying to convince me I need to do today.

How do you pace yourself to make sure you’re not trying to do too much?  How do you know what your best is, and how do you know if you are doing it?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

