Gratitude: A Great Virtue

Reading: “An Attitude of Gratitude,” Thomas S. Monson, Ensign, May 1992

When I read many talks or articles by the same person I often begin to see patterns or repetitions that reveal more about how that person thinks.  In the talk I read today I found repeated a line from the talk I read yesterday, both of which were given by President Monson, but 15 years apart.  That line is:

If ingratitude be numbered among the serious sins, then gratitude takes its place among the noblest of virtues.

As I pondered this idea, that gratitude is among the greatest virtues, I thought about how happy people who have gratitude seem to be.  I remember a sister in a former ward who was so sweet and often expressed her gratitude.  Although she was mostly deaf she instead chose to focus on the positives around her and her life was greatly blessed by it, as were the lives of her children.

Also, I notice that gratitude seems to be an inoculation against many other serious vices of our time.  Sins like pride, anger, murmuring, gossip, cruelty, and materialism all become practically impossible if we are cultivating heartfelt, righteous gratitude.

As I have often written in my blog posts, patience is definitely something that I struggle with.  Today I will pay particular attention to my blessings at times when I am feeling annoyed and then write about those things in my journal.

Is there anything that you struggle with that might be made easier with an attitude of gratitude?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

