Multiply and Replenish the Earth

Reading: 1 Corinthians 6:19, Matthew 19:5-6, Genesis 1:28, Abraham 4:28

This past Sunday we had an excellent lesson about educating our children about sexual intimacy.  Inspired by this lesson, today I want to talk about the Mormon view of sexual intimacy.

Mormons, along with other religious groups, are sometimes accused of being overly repressive sexually.  While some misguided parents may teach their children that sex is evil or dirty, the stance of the church on sexual intimacy is crystal clear: sexual intimacy is a beautiful thing, but should only be practiced inside marriage.

This is because Mormons believe children are extremely precious and important, and that to use sexual intimacy outside the bounds the Lord has set is to endanger God’s precious spirits.  God has given us the ability to bring new children into the world, and one of the great tests of this life is to see how we will handle that responsibility.  One has only to look at the number of children in the average Mormon congregation to see how much we treasure and respect sexual intimacy as a vital part of living a good life. One also only has to look around in any community to see the great pain and misery that can be inflicted on innocent children because of the misuse of this Godlike responsibility.

Sexual intimacy inside marriage was the first commandment God gave to Adam and Eve, after they were married, as found in Genesis 1:28:

And God blessed them, and God said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth.

After I had my first child my appreciation of the importance of sexual intimacy grew a great deal.  My baby was so precious, so perfect, so helpless, so important, that the practice that had brought her into the world suddenly also seemed so much more important and precious.  What better gift could I give my children than the proper use of sexual intimacy inside my own marriage?

Today I am going to read another chapter in a book I recently purchased called Christlike Parenting by Glenn I. Latham because it is helping learn how to be a better teacher for my children (about everything, not just sexual intimacy).  If there’s anything I learned Sunday, it’s that teaching children about sexual intimacy begins when they are young and lasts until they are married, so I’d better get started!

What are some of the consequences you have seen of the misuse of sexual intimacy?  What are some of the consequences you have seen of the correct use?

3 comments so far

  1. Doug & Laurel on

    Hi Katie
    I stumbled across your blog on LDS BLOGS. I thought you mighe be interested in a site my wife and I just built called MormonsMadeSimple.com, which uses simple, explanatory videos to explain the Mormon faith. Feel free to feature any of these videos on your blog, or just share them with non-member friends. We’re hoping these videos will be missionary tools to help members share their beliefs. Anyway, sorry to spam your comments section. I couldn’t find any contact information for you on your blog.

    – Doug & Laurel

  2. searchingthescriptures on

    Thanks for pointing that out – I have now added contact information to the About Me page.

    I actually already heard about your site via the Millenial Star and LDS Media blogs. I really enjoyed the video of what to expect from a church service, as it explains a lot of things I think we take for granted. The videos are very well made. Keep up the good work!

  3. searchingthescriptures on

    So, it has come to my attention that this post been linked to by a particularly vicious and inaccurate anti-Mormon post. If you’re coming from there, welcome! While there are many errors in that post, one thing I especially wanted to clarify is that we most definitely believe that it is appropriate to have sex only for pleasure (for example, while using birth control) with your husband or wife. That was the point I was trying to make in this post – that sex is not something icky or evil, but great and fun and we shouldn’t be ashamed of enjoying sex with our married partner. Sex is for pleasure AND procreation, and if you ignore either purpose it can have dire consequences for you and your family. If you have any more questions about how Mormons view marriage and sex, feel free to leave another comment and I’ll try to answer it, just make sure your comment does not violate our comment policy. Also, it may take me a while since I haven’t been keeping up on the blog, but I’ll do my best. 🙂


Leave a Reply

