I Have Chosen the Good Part

Reading: 2 Nephi 2:30, Omni 1:2

As Lehi ends his blessing for Jacob he tells Jacob that he has made good choices in his life.  He says:

I have spoken these few words unto you all, my sons, in the last days of my probation; and I have chosen the good part, according to the words of the prophet.

This is a great contrast to Omni’s words found in Omni 1:2:

But behold, I of myself am a wicked man, and I have not kept the statutes and the commandments of the Lord as I ought to have done.

At this point in my life I feel that I have chosen the good part.  While I am far from perfect, I was married in the temple, we have a strong family, and we are starting on the path of raising children.  However, there is still so far to go!  There are the challenges I know I will face, such as raising children and growing older, and challenges I cannot anticipate that I still have to get through.  I hope that when all is said and done I can continue to say, with Lehi, that I have chosen the good part.

Today I am going to take some time to play outside with our daughter.  Yesterday she wanted so bad to play outside, but I had so much to do I didn’t have time.  As President Monson has often said, though, it is important to take time to play with and enjoy our children.  So, today I will make time.

Have you chosen the good part?  What choices have you made that affect where you are today? What choices will you make for tomorrow?

2 comments so far

  1. Michaela Stephens on

    I have tried really hard to choose the good part too. It’s interesting that the scriptures use that term “that good part”, because it is so similar to a term that is prevalent in American culture–“the good life”. However, “the good life” is often interpreted to mean material things, when really it is something better.
    To me, choosing the good part is about taking opportunities to hear the word of God by going to meetings and firesides and so on. It also means taking opportunities to share the gospel when they come up. It also means making the choice to act better and kinder than people might expect you to. It means taking chances to give service. It means taking the opportunity to repent and be purified. It means taking the opportunity to learn from adversity rather than be embittered by it. It means choosing Christ over the world.

    I have to say that one of the things I really like about your blog is that you ask some really thought-provoking questions at the end of your posts.

  2. searchingthescriptures on

    Wow, great comparison to “the good life”! The gospel does indeed give us a different perspective on what makes a good life.

    Thanks so much for reading the blog!


Leave a Reply

