All-Knowing God

Reading: 2 Nephi 2:24

Today is an exciting day in our house.  It is our baby’s first birthday.  Also, my sister-in-law is in labor and it looks very much like our little girl will be sharing a birthday with her cousin.  We are excited for our own baby’s growth, and for the birth of a new baby in the family.

The scripture I am discussing today seems especially poignant.  2 Nephi 2:24 says:

But behold, all things have been done in the wisdom of him who knoweth all things.

When I am happy, and things are going well (like today), it is easy to believe that God is in control and that he knows what he is doing.

However, when things are not going well it becomes harder for me to have faith that “all things have been done in the wisdom of him who knoweth all thing.”  However, I know that many of the trials I have experienced in the past have helped me to better appreciate the good things that happen.

For example, if it weren’t for my own experiences as a mother over the past year and a half (pregnancy, birth, and onwards) then I wouldn’t feel so happy that my baby is a year old, or that a new baby is being born.  Before I was a mother I could not appreciate the amount of work and sacrifice it takes to bring a baby into the world and to raise them, so I didn’t have the depth of appreciation I have now for these precious moments and milestones. I see that God is directing me on a path to teach me and help me have joy.

Today I am going to give myself a little break and just enjoy the birthday celebrations, and appreciate what God has given me.

What things do you better appreciate now that you have experienced some trial or sacrifice?

3 comments so far

  1. paul on

    if god knows all things than that means he knows what i am going to do before i do it so i have no choice. if god already knows your going to hell then their is no way to change it. also if god needed certain people to do certain things for future events to occur such as in the book of revelations then those people have no choice of what to do either. so who can it make since that god knows all

    • searchingthescriptures on

      Paul –
      The idea that since God knows what we are going to do then we have no choice is pretty common. However, the mere knowledge of a thing does not mean you have control over it. For example, I know that if I try to feed my toddler cheerios I know she won’t eat them, but if I feed her bananas I know she will eat it right up. This doesn’t mean I have control over her actions, merely that I know what she will do from experience.

      God knows perfectly everything we will do, but has given us our free agency. This means that even when he knows we are about to do something terrible he allows us to do it to preserve our free agency. If we weren’t able to make choices on our own then we would indeed all be doomed to be no more than mindless automatons, just as you say. God knows this and so has decreed that we have the ability to choose for ourselves even though it sometimes means bad things are done, because otherwise we would also never be able to know happiness because happiness only comes through our own choices.

      When God makes prophecies he is merely predicting what will happen because of the choices he knows other people will make in the future, not because he is going to force those people to make those choices. If God could force us to make choices, then it makes sense that he would force us to make the “right” choices rather than allowing us to make so many bad choices all the time. As I said before, though, the only way for us to be happy is for us to be able to choose for ourselves so that means we also are able to choose bad as well as good.

      Here
      is a great resource about agency. Also, a good chapter to read about this is 2 Nephi 2, or you can browse the entries tagged “free agency” on this site. Thanks for pointing out this common misconception, and giving me the chance to explain the Mormon view of things.

  2. Buck on

    There is a lot of difference in God knowing your choices and you not having a choice. Free will does exist.


Leave a Reply

