To Till The Earth

Reading: 2 Nephi 2:19, Moses 5:1

One of the definitive aspects of Earth life is that we must work to provide for ourselves.  When Adam and Eve were in the Garden of Eden they were provided for, at least in part.  Once they left the Garden of Eden it was up to them to provide food for themselves and their family.  In 2 Nephi 2:19 it says:

And after Adam and Eve had partaken of the forbidden fruit they were driven out of the garden of Eden, to till the earth.

It also elaborates a little bit further in Moses 5:1:

And it came to pass that after I, the Lord God, had driven them out, that Adam began to till the earth, and to have dominion over all the beasts of the field, and to eat his bread by the sweat of his brow, as I the Lord had commanded him. And Eve, also, his wife, did labor with him.

Ever since I graduated from high school I have worked hard to provide for myself and/or my family.  Sometimes, especially in college, I had to get by on very little.  Now that I am a mother, and my husband is able to make enough to provide for us, I am not working outside the home, but I still work hard at the day to day care of our child and our home.  While the amount and nature of the “provisions” I provide has changed quite a bit in different periods of my life, the requirement to work hard every day has been constant no matter what my cirucmstances were.

This is just my thinking, but since most of us spend most of our time doing things like going to work, washing the laundry, making dinner, changing diapers, and so on, and since God made this Earth life what it is, then it seems that the day to day stuff must be pretty important for our learning and growth.  God does not ask us to go live on a mountain somewhere and meditate all day, he asks us to have families and to take care of them.  So, work must be a very important thing for us to learn while we are here.

I think it was last week I shared that I was getting a food storage plan together.  When I said that I would work on it before, I did but only had time to compile a list of the foods that I felt belonged in a food storage for our family.  Today, as part of the commandment to provide for our family, I am going to complete that plan by figuring out the amount of each food that  would be required for a year.

What lessons have you learned through your day to day work of providing for your family?

1 comment so far

  1. Michaela Stephens on

    One lesson I’ve learned in my family is about stewardship and delegation. I’ve also learned about “preparing every needful thing”. I’ve found that while it is fun to be spontaneous sometimes, the bigger the activity or project, the more planning needs to go into it to make it successful.


Leave a Reply

