In the Presence of God

Reading: 2 Nephi 2:10

One thing that is implicit in many doctrines is that one day we will be judged according to how we have lived our lives on Earth.  However, we don’t often talk about what that judgement will be like.  In 2 Nephi 2:10 we learn one thing about what that judgement will be.  It says:

And because of the intercession for all, all men come unto God; wherefore, they stand in the presence of him, to be judged of him according to the truth and holiness which is in him.

This states that when we are judged we will be in the presence of God to be judged by him, personally.  It also says this is possible through the Atonement.

This knowledge is both frightening and comforting.  One the one hand, it is kind of scary to think of all of my sins and imperfections being laid bear before God while I am in his presence.  On the other hand, it does seem better than an impersonal judgement made from far away.  It does give me a little bit more motivation to work on repenting and improving myself.

This week we have had a lot going on in the evenings, so I’ve been staying up late and as a result my evening prayer and scripture study have suffered.  Tonight, even though it is Friday and I’ll probably be up late again, I’m going to make sure I put my full effort into my evening prayer and scripture study.

What do you think it will be like to be in the presence of God again?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

