Our Advocate

Reading: 2 Nephi 2:9, Moroni 7:28, D&C 29:5, TG Jesus Christ, Advocate

One of the roles of Jesus Christ is to be our advocate with God, the Father.  This means that he pleads with him for our salvation. In 2 Nephi 2:9 it says:

Wherefore, he is the firstfruits unto God, inasmuch as he shall make intercession for all the children of men.

“Intercession” is defined as an intervention, or a mediation.  Christ as the “firstfruits” or the firstborn is on our side, advocating for us as God makes his judgements.  In Moroni 7:28 it elaborates just a little bit more:

For he hath answered the ends of the law, and he claimeth all those who have faith in him; and they who have faith in him will cleave unto every good thing; wherefore he advocateth the cause of the children of men; and he dwelleth eternally in the heavens.

I have never really thought of the Savior before as my “advocate.”  It gives me hope to think that he is arguing my case for me, because I think I could really use the help.  It also gives me comfort to know that God would love for us to get the best possible, but is constrained by justice, as it says in D&C 29:5:

Lift up your hearts and be glad, for I am in your midst, and am your advocate with the Father; and it is his good will to give you the kingdom.

The image I see is of God as the good judge who is doing all he can to make the right judgment, and Jesus as a close counselor who argues for leniency, but who also recognizes the necessity of making a correct judgement.

Today I am going to try and be an advocate for the people around me.  The Savior is not just my advocate, but also everybody else’s, so it behooves me to also look for the best in other people.  I’m thinking this will mostly be an internal thing as I try to be patient and think the best of the people I interact with today.

Have you ever had an experience where someone was your advocate?  How did that make you feel?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

