Saved In and Through Jesus Christ

Reading: 2 Nephi 2:6, BD Grace

Yesterday I talked about how none of us can be saved through simple obedience.  The second half of that statement should be that we are saved through Jesus Christ.  It says in 2 Nephi 2:6

Wherefore, redemption cometh in and through the Holy Messiah; for he is full of grace and truth.

Since we cannot save ourselves, we are saved through Jesus Christ.  Since Christ lived a perfect life and never broke the law, he was not subject to the same punishment that we are.  Because he was perfect he was able to pay the debt for all of us, and free us from condemnation so that we could repent and try again.

“Grace” is defined in the bible dictionary as an “enabling power.” Christ is full of grace such that he is able to enable us to change our ways and become better people.

However, this is not a free ticket to everyone to do whatever they want.  There are certain conditions that we must meet in order to qualify for Christ’s gift, and that is what I will talk about tomorrow.

When I first came to truly understand how much we depend on Christ for salvation, I found it to be very encouraging.  Instead of having to rely on myself, I have the Savior to help me through every step of progression.  When I think about this aspect of the Atonement it gives me hope for my future.

Today I am going to remember in my prayers to thank Heavenly Father for Atonement, and to thank him for specific effects of the Atonement in my life.

How would our life be different with or without knowing that you depend on the Savior for salvation?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

