God Speaks to Prophets

Reading: 2 Nephi 2:3-4

Something I never realized until I started this in-depth analysis of 2 Nephi Chapter 2 is that Jacob saw the Savior, in person, at a young age.  It says it right there:

Wherefore, I know that thou art redeemed, because of the righteousness of thy Redeemer; for thou hast beheld that in the fulness of time he cometh to bring salvation unto men. And thou hast beheld in thy youth his glory; wherefore, thou art blessed even as they unto whom he shall minister in the flesh.

One of the central teachings of our church is that God has revealed himself to prophets throughout history, and continues to do so today. Clearly, Jacob became a prophet to his people during and after Nephi’s lifetime. It is important for the member of any church to know that God is speaking to the leaders of said church.

Now, at this point I could go into a deep discussion of the role of prophets, the reasons why God can only reveal himself to worthy people, the fact that God and Jesus Christ have separate bodies, the importance of continuing revelation, and so on.  But, since this is a short-form blog, instead I’ll just say that we believe that God continues to speak to men today, just as he did to Jacob, and just as he did in the time of the Bible.  Here’s a video about it:

In my life, the belief that God speaks to men is central to my own belief in the gospel.  If I didn’t believe that God was speaking to the leaders of my church, what motivation would I have to follow them?

Today I am going to write in my journal about my testimony of prophets, exploring why it is that I have that testimony and why it is important.

What does the knowledge that God speaks to prophets mean to you?  How is your life different (or how would your life be different) because of this knowledge?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

