Studying Beneath the Surface

Reading: 2 Nephi 2

In this blog, I like to keep things short.  The short blog is easy to write, easy to read, and allows me to focus in on a single topic at a time.  If I didn’t keep it short, there is no way I could write this every day.  I suspect most people wouldn’t want to read every day, either.

So, last night, when I read 2 Nephi Chapter 2 I knew there was no way I could blog about it all.  This chapter is full to the brim of doctrine and concepts.  If I were to try, I would probably end up writing 2 or 3 blog posts per verse.

So, instead I decided to take this example to show why it is important to really study the scriptures.  2 Nephi 2 is full of really important concepts that we all need to know about the plan of salvation, the nature of God, the fall of man, the purpose of life, and more.  Some stuff in scriptures is nice to know but not really vital.  However, if you don’t understand the kind of stuff that is in this chapter then your testimony is not going to make it for long.

This is why one of my new year’s resolutions is to spend time just reading my scriptures in the evening, in addition to writing in this blog.  There are some concepts that you just need to study.

Originally, I was just going to take this as an example of why you should take time to really study the scriptures deeply and skip over the whole chapter, reasoning that it was just too big to handle in this format.  However, I’m realizing that I really do need to make the effort to pick apart the chapter and write about the concepts it covers.  So, that’s what I’m promising to do today: spend the next couple weeks or so featuring important concepts found in 2 Nephi 2.

Sometimes it can be a challenge deeper into your scripture study than just reading your chapter a day and calling it good.  How do you “get into” your scripture study?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

