Happiness Through Christ

Reading: “The Atonement Can Secure Your Peace and Happiness,” Elder Richard G. Scott, Liahona, November 2006

In American society we seem to think that happiness comes through wealth.  Our society is focused on consumerism and the buying and selling of goods and services.  If I can make more money, we always seem to think, we will be more happy.  All this despite the fact that there is little evidence that wealthier people are actually happier (except for TV shows and movies, which are imaginary).

The gospel teaches that true happiness come through following Christ.  When we live according to the principles taught by Christ in the scriptures we are happier.

In this talk Elder Scott teaches us that when we let Christ lead our lives, we will find the greatest happiness. He says,

Your life can and should be wondrously rewarding. It is your understanding and application of the laws of God that will give your life glorious purpose as you ascend and conquer the difficulties of life.

In my life sometimes I get focused on stuff that doesn’t really matter.  Like, having a totally clean house, or accomplishing some project, or sometimes, increasing my amount of stuff.  When I do that I get stressed out, depressed, and unhappy.  When I am really focused in on what matters: my family, the Savior, and living the gospel, I am happier.

Today I am going to do all my goals that I made (which I’ve been doing fairly good at) and let them be the focus of my day.  I will do other things, too, of course, but they will be secondary to my most important goals.

Are there times in your life when you thought something would make you happy, but then it turned out you were looking in the wrong place?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

