The Prey of the Mighty Shall Be Delivered

Reading: 1 Nephi 21

Last night I read one of my favorite chapters in the Book of Mormon, 1 Nephi 21.  In this “Isaiah chapter” God is talking to Israel, telling them that he has not forget them and that they will be restored. In verses 24 and 25 he says,

For shall the prey be taken from the mighty, or the lawful captives delivered? But thus saith the Lord, even the captives of the mighty shall be taken away, and the prey of the terrible shall be delivered; for I will contend with him that contendeth with thee, and I will save thy children.

In another verse God’s love is said to be stronger than a mother’s love for her child.  While there are some mothers who will neglect or harm their children, he says, he will never forget.  In verse 15:

For can a woman forget her sucking child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? Yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee, O house of Israel.

The beautiful part of this chapter, to me, is how God assures Israel that although it may seem as if he has forgotten them, “he will show that he hath not.” (verse 14)

I can think of several times in my life where things seemed pretty bad and felt as if perhaps God had forgotten about me.  However, as I did cling to God’s promises at that time, eventually I felt as if God had definitely showed me that he had never forgotten me, but my trials were a necessary learning experience.

Today I am going to try to memorize the last verse or two of “How Firm A Foundation,” which is a favorite hymn and lullaby for me that has about the same message as 1 Nephi 21.

Are there times in your life did you feel that God had forgotten you, only to see later that he had not?  Or, if you can’t think of a specific time, are there stories in the scriptures that stand out to you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

