Listening For Real

Reading: 1 Nephi 19:23

Yesterday in Sunday School during the ten minutes or so that I wasn’t struggling with a very sleepy baby (whose nap time is in the middle of our new church time) our teacher was talking about the upcoming year and encouraged us to apply the things that we learn about to ourselves.  He said that as we do that we will gain a lot more from the course.

Then, last night I read this famous scripture mastery verse:

And I did read many things unto them which were written in the books of Moses; but that I might more fully persuade them to believe in the Lord their Redeemer I did read unto them that which was written by the prophet Isaiah; for I did liken all scriptures unto us, that it might be for our profit and learning.

This blog is also inspired by the idea that we gain the most from scripture when we take what we read and we apply to our own lives and situations.

While I do fairly well while writing this blog, I’m not always so good about really applying what I am hearing when I go to church.  There are many reasons I get distracted, or bored, or whatever, but often I don’t get everything I could out of the talks and lessons I hear. It seems to me that if I put a similar effort into gleaning personal application from talks and lessons at church to what I do in this blog, I would gain a lot more from my church attendance, even when the lessons or talks don’t seem very well done.

This coming week at church I am going to do my best to take notes.  Rather than just jot down ideas, though, I’m going to write down personal applications of what I am hearing and learning.

How do you get the most out of your lessons at church?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

