Sow A Habit

Reading: “Good Habits Develop Good Character,” Delbert L. Stapley, Ensign, Nov 1974

One often quoted poem (also quoted in Elder Stapleys talk) states:

Sow a thought, reap an action,

Sow an action, reap a habit,

Sow a habit, reap character,

Sow a character, reap a destiny.

Today, as I was reflecting on how I can keep up with my goals over time, I observed that a main goal is to establish them as ingrained habits.  Once they are habits, it is a lot easier to keep up doing the same thing every day because it takes less effort.

Elder Stapley had a lot to say about how good habits influence our “destiny.”  He said,

Our great challenge is to learn how to control ourselves. We must learn for ourselves and act for ourselves, being careful not to follow those who are not divinely led. We have a responsibility to thwart the work of the evil one—not to aid or perpetuate his cause by yielding to his enticements to sin.

Habits can be difficult to establish.  I remember at one time in my life I felt that I needed to do a lot better at saying prayers before meals.  I worked very hard at it.  After a while, I no longer needed to think about it because it was so ingrained as a habit.

Today I am going to put up a little chart from a site, Joe’s Goals, which helps you to keep track of goals.  This means you will be able to see how many of my goals I’ve done in the past few days.  In the past I’ve avoided doing this publicly because it seemed like bragging if I was doing well, and embarassing if I was doing poorly.  However, since I don’t believe there’s a ton of people who visit this site every day anyway, those worries aren’t so much of a problem on this blog.  🙂 It will be just enough of a motivator to help me keep my attention on whether I am working on my goals every single day. [EDIT: My goals can now be viewed on the right sidebar underneath recent posts. ]

How do you establish habits?  What good habits have you established in the past are now helping you?

1 comment so far

  1. […] Sowing – Sowing is the time for making contacts adding to lists and developing relationships. This is the time to […]


Leave a Reply

