Keeping Your Eye on the Ball

Reading: “Life’s Lessons Learned,” by Elder Joseph B. Wirthlin, Ensign, May 2007

Now that Christmas is over, it is that time of year when we are lead to look back on the past year, and also look forward and plan what we would like the next year to be like.

In this talk Elder Wirthlin, who passed away at the beginning of this month, talks about some formative experiences in his life.  He observes that it was his continual commitment to the most important things that kept him on course in his life.  He says,

I urge you to examine your life. Determine where you are and what you need to do to be the kind of person you want to be. Create inspiring, noble, and righteous goals that fire your imagination and create excitement in your heart. And then keep your eye on them. Work consistently towards achieving them.

This year as I have been thinking about all the goals I would like to have, I realized that there are more than I can accomplish realistically.  I’d like to keep my house cleaner, become more educated, be more patient, be healthier, and do all the little things I think I should be doing.  If I were to try to do all of it at once, I would probably fail.

So, instead, I decided to focus on a few small things that I feel are most important.  These include being more patient and loving with my family, saying prayers every morning and night, reading my scriptures, writing in my journal, and following the promptings of the Spirit.  Then, I’ll just turn all of that other stuff over to the Lord and have faith that he will be better able to help me improve in those other areas than I could do on my own.

This is my version of “keeping my eye on the ball” for right now.  How do you keep your eyes on what is most important as you work to improve yourself?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

