Pleasing to God

Reading: 1 Nephi 6:4-5

When reading today two scriptures stood out above all the others.  They were:

For the fulness of mine intent is that I may persuade men to come unto the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, and be saved.  Wherefore, the things which are pleasing unto the world I do not write, but the things which are pleasing unto God and unto those who are not of the world.

Each day I make many choices.  Sometimes I make choices that are pleasing to God, some that are pleasing to the world.  I would like to make more choices that are pleasing to God.

Here are some choices that are pleasing to the world that I may or may not do sometimes, but that are fairly common:

  • Watching questionable television shows
  • Spending too much on things that you don’t need
  • Being less than kind to someone because of what you think about them
  • Saying humorous but hurtful things to your spouse or children

Here are some choices that I may or may not have made, but I would like to have made, that are pleasing to God:

  • Getting a gift for someone in need
  • Holding your tongue when you feel like getting angry
  • Taking a few extra minutes to comfort a child
  • Reading your scriptures even though you are very pressed for time.

Okay, so I did do that last one today and I am glad.

Today I am going to slow down a bit.  We are moving in two days and while we are making good progress on packing, there is still so much to do!  I get tempted to get so focused on getting stuff done on time that I am sometimes impatient with myself or my husband.  But, today, I’ll try to just relax a little bit.

What do you do that is pleasing to the world, and what do you do that is pleasing to God?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

