The Lord Prepares a Way

Reading: 1 Nephi 3 & 4

After leaving Jerusalem, Lehi had a dream where God asked him to send his sons back to Jerusalem to get the brass plates.  While Laman and Lemuel did not want to go, Nephi gave this famous response:

I will go and do the things which the Lord hath commanded, for I know the Lord giveth no commandments unto the children of men, save he shall prepare a way for them to accomplish the thing which he commandeth them.

This was a pretty amazing attitude, considering what they were up against.  They were to go to Laban, a leader of the city, and ask him to give them a precious document.  Laman and Lemuel were realistic and didn’t think it could be done.  And, indeed the first time they tried, they were turned away.  Then, when they tried to trade their riches for the plates, he stole their riches.  Laban was not someone to mess with, or as Laman and Lemuel put it:

How is it possible that the Lord will deliver Laban into our hands? Behold, he is a mighty man, and he can command fifty, yea, even he can slay fifty; then why not us?

However, through inspiration Nephi was lead to find a way to obtain the plates.  First, he found Laban drunk and, in defense of his family and his posterity, slew him with a sword.  Then, he took Laban’s garments and was able to get a servant to lead him to the plates.

Sometimes, when it comes to certain aspects of living the gospel, the task seems insrumountable.  For example, how can I stand up for my beliefs when everyone will belittle me?  Or, how can I pay tithing when I don’t have enough money to pay my bills? Or, how can I find time to go to the temple when I have small children?  That last one would be one I often have trouble with.

God will help us to find a way to accomplish all that He has asked us to do.

This upcoming week is going to be hard, as we are moving and I feel like I have so much more to do than time to do it.  Yet, I have faith that God will help me if I ask for help.  Moving isn’t a commandment from God, but being unified as a family it is, and really, it is the unity and peace of our family that will break if the move doesn’t go well, not the actual move itself.  So, today, I am going to A) pray for help in moving and B) when I start to think about how much there is to do, I will remember about Nephi and tell myself that God will help me as we move.

What hard things have you done that God has helped you with?  Were there times when it seemed like following God’s commandments was impossible, but you were blessed to find a way?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

