Inasmuch as Ye Shall Keep My Commandments Ye Shall Prosper

Reading: 1 Nephi 2:16-24

I’m sorry for not writing this week.  It actually hasn’t been because of moving, but because I’ve been watching a little boy in the mornings for someone in our ward.  It is during my baby’s morning nap, which is when I usually write in the blog.  Since my time is occupied I’ve had trouble making time for this, although I could definitely have tried harder. 🙂

In the second half of the second chapter of Nephi we learn the defining difference between Nephi and his brothers Laman and Lemuel.  In verse 16 we read:

And it came to pass that I, Nephi, being exceedingly young, nevertheless being large in stature, and also having great desires to know of the mysteries of God, wherefore, I did cry unto the Lord; and behold he did visit me, and did soften my heart that I did believe all the words which had been spoken by my father; wherefore, I did not rebel against him like unto my brothers.

The difference between Nephi and his brothers Laman and Lemeul was that he sought out God on his own.  Laman and Lemuel never sought out God, but expected things to be handed to them… and even when they were visited by angels they later denied the divinity of what they saw.

To me, this seems a profound reminder that if I am to grow in the gospel it is up to me to seek God out.  God would love to hand me a testimony, just like any loving parent would, but it is not something that can be handed over.  It is only when I make the effort that I will truly grow.

This also helped me to realize that when I am teaching my own child(ren) there is nothing I can do to force them to live the gospel.  All I can do is set an example, and humbly invite them to seek out their own testimonies.  If I try to push them into it I may just push them away, but if I invite them to come on their own then they will truly know the gospel.

Today I am going to write my testimony in my journal.  If there are areas that I feel I could grow then I will do what I can to seek out the answers.  And, it will be there in the future for my own children to see and learn from.

What do you do to seek out God for answers to your own problems?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

