A Constant Witness of God

Reading: 1 Nephi Chapter 1, Lectures on Faith Section 3:2-5

As part of my reading of the general conference adresses I made the commitment to make more effort at reading the Book of Mormon.  So, today I am going to start a review of the Book of Mormon.  I may not write about it every day, because it is a little more time consuming to read and write about a chapter of scripture than it is a talk that is geared to only a single topic.  But, I’m willing to try and see how it goes.

When I took a class on the Book of Mormon in college I had a teacher who emphasized to us that the Book of Mormon is “Another Testament of Jesus Christ.”  The reason this is important can be found in the Lectures on Faith, a document from early in the church that was used to instruct priesthood leaders and was printed with the Doctrine and Covenants for some time.  It was removed because the document is not a direct revelation from God, but rather a compilation of knowledge, so they felt it did not fit.  However, it is a great instruction on faith.  Anyway, the quote I am referring to is:

Let us here observe, that three things are necessary, in order that any rational and intelligent being may exercise faith in God unto life and salvation.

First, The idea that he actually exists.

Secondly, A correct idea of his character, perfections and attributes.

Thirdly, An actual knowledge that the course of life which he is pursuing, is according to his will.

The idea here is that in order for us to have sufficient faith in God, we must have a correct idea of what he is like.  So, by testifying constantly about what God and the Savior are like, the Book of Mormon is fulfilling a vital role in our individual salvation.

Because of this being hammered into my head in my Book of Mormon class I often find myself picking out charateristics of God as I read the Book of Mormon.  And, that is what I kept coming back to today.

In the first chapter alone we learn the following things about the character of God:

  • God is good and favors those who follow him (verse 1)
  • God hears and answers prayers (verse 6)
  • God has a body (verse 8)
  • The Savior also has a body and is separate from God (verse 9)
  • God is all powerful (verse 14)
  • God is good and merciful (verse 14)
  • God will save those who come to him (verse 14)
  • God shares knowledge (verse 18)
  • “The tender mercies of the Lord are over all those whom he hath chose, because of their faith, to make them mighty even unto the power of deliverance.” (verse 20)

When I think of God as being merciful, loving, and powerful, my faith is stronger.  I feel safer and I am easier to trust in God.  When I get false ideas of God stuck into my head (usually without really realizing it), like that he must be angry with me, or that he doesn’t care about me, then I have a much harder time with faith.

Today I am going to try and look at the picture of the Savior on our wall throughout the day and think about what we know about Him through the scriptures.

What characteristics of God help you trust him better?

1 comment so far

  1. Michaela Stephens on

    I really like that idea of going through the Book of Mormon looking for characteristics of God.

    One trait that helps me trust him is where Christ says that the very hairs of our head are numbered and not one can fall to the ground without the Father noticing. This gives the feeling that Heavenly Father watching me very closely. He knows about my fingernails breaking and peeling and about the occasional heartburn I get and whatever other challenges. He knows about my physical condition and also about what is happening to me. I feel like He’s right there.


Leave a Reply

