Words From a Prophet

Reading: “Until We Meet Again,” President Thomas S. Monson, October 2008 General Conference, Sunday Afternoon Session

Today I read the last of the talks from general conference.  I have really enjoyed reading all of the talks and am amazed at how much there is to learn and grow from just this single general conference alone.  I am greatful for the knowledge we are blessed with and look forward to many opportunities for growth as I try to live what I learn.

It is somewhat traditional for the prophet to give a farewell talk at the end of conference where he gives parting advice and encouragement to the church.  In this talk some interesting points told by President Monson are:

  • We should be good citizens of the countries and communities where we live, reaching out to people of every religion or non-religion.
  • We have many opportunities to help those in need.
  • Through the donations of church members the church is able to be among the first responders to disasters throughout the world.
  • Continuous revelation is a great blessing to us, and we are blessed to live in a time where we have so much of it.
  • Eternal life in the presence of God is our most important goal.

Today I was half listening to a TV show my husband was watching while eating lunch and the villain of the story was accused of being a “murderer and a false prophet.”  It made me reflect on how much damage a “false prophet” could do.  This made me even more greatful for our prophet, who leads us the way to go.  And, it is possible for each of us to know that President Monson is the true prophet of God by praying to God and testing the principles he teaches. The more I study and the more I try to live the gospel, the more certain I am that President Monson is a prophet of God.

I don’t really know much about President Monson’s life, so today I’m going to try to find a short biography of him online to read so that I know more about him.  [EDIT:  After writing this I found this website created by the church with a biography and many pictures and even a video.  The wikipedia article also has a more detailed biography. ]

What about President Monson’s final words stood out to you?  Or, how do you know that President Monson is a prophet of God?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

