Through Small and Simple Things

Reading: “Testimony as a Process,” Elder Carlos A. Godoy of the Seventy, October 2008 General Conference, Sunday Afternoon Session

I’m sorry for missing the past few days.  We went to Colorado to find a place to move into in December.  We found a lovely place and are excited to move in a few weeks.

In the scriptures we sometimes read about great conversion experiences, such as Alma the Younger’s visit with the angel, or Paul’s visitation by Christ.  So, sometimes there is an idea that a conversion experience should be big and momentous.  However, Elder Godoy encourages us not to think this way, but rather rely on the smaller experiences with the Spirit.

In order to gain a testimony we should be continually living the gospel.  Elder Godoy says:

Today, after many years as a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, I might not be able to remember most of the experiences that have shaped my testimony. Still, all of these experiences have left their mark and contributed to my testimony of the restored Church. Today, I have an absolute certainty of the truths of the gospel of Jesus Christ.

I cannot think of any single great experience in my life that converted me to the gospel.  I can think of several experiences that were special and spiritual, but I feel more that they came after the testimony rather than caused my testimony.  Indeed, my testimony is a product of many small experiences that are happening all the time.

Reflecting on this also made me realize that when I rely on the bigger experiences for my testimony, it is a bad thing over time.  My testimony and love of the gospel is much, much stronger when I am actively trying to help it grow.  When I relax I may be okay for a short time but I can feel myself weaken.

Today I am going to plan a FHE lesson.  We have been doing pretty well the past few weeks in doing something for FHE, but have been lax in really coming up with a lesson.  An FHE lesson is a great way to help your testimony grow as a family.

How do you keep your testimony burning bright?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

