Overcoming Opposition

Reading, “The Test,” President Boyd K. Packer, President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, October 2008 General Conference, Sunday Afternoon Session

First of all, I just want to let you know I finally fixed the subscribe link, so if you haven’t yet please subscribe to the blog!

I’m not sure if it’s just because that is what is on my mind, but so many of the talks on Sunday seem to deal directly with the church being persecuted and how to deal with it.  Perhaps knowing that church would be getting some bad press in the coming months, God inspired the leaders to help us be prepared.

Early in chuch history, the Mormons were driven out of Nauvoo and forced to trek across the continent in order to find a place where they could practice their religion in peace.  In Missouri especially the Saints faced all kind of hatred in the form of mobs, murders, physical violence, destruction of property, rape, and so on.  The church sought redress for these wrong through the United States government but were denied.

However, even after all this, President Packer tells the story of how the Saints honored the constitution and the country they lived under.  They held dear the command to be subject to the government and so put aside any thoughts of revenge or rebellion and simply went on with their lives in a place where they could be themselves.

I had many ancestors who were a part of this history.  Even if I didn’t, as a member of a church I am part of what they worked so hard to preserve.  I feel that if I am to honor their work and sacrifice, I should follow their example.  I should live the gospel no matter what others do or say, and refrain from sinking to the level of those who would defame our church and its members.

Today I am going to get out our pocket copy of the constitution and read it, in order to remember what it was that my ancestors were honoring in it.

President Packer’s talk was mostly a history and not so much preaching, so what did you get out of it?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

