Unified as One

Reading: “Our Hearts Knit as One,” President Henry B. Eyring, First Counselor in the First Presidency, October 2008 General Conference, Sunday Morning Session

Last Sunday as I was going to church I kept pondering the question how I could encourage our family to be more focused on the gospel.  The answer I came up with surprised me at first, but made a lot of sense.  It was to be closer to and more unified with my husband.  So, while I was reading President Eyring’s talk on unity that is what I kept in mind.

Throughout the talk President Eyring listed many ways that we can encourage unity in our families and in the church:

  • Pray together
  • Pray for unity
  • Stick to the teachings of the prophets
  • Do not contend with each other
  • Look forward together to joy in the gospel
  • Testify of the Savior and His mission
  • Revelation encourages unity
  • Be humble
  • Be a peacemaker
  • Search for and focus on what you agree on
  • See opportunity in differences
  • Avoid judging
  • Only speak kindly of others
  • Give service

There are a lot ways that we can become more unified in the groups that we inhabit.  My husband and I get along really well, but I can see in this list many ways that I can improve.

Today I am going to get together with my family and have family prayer  before we go to bed.  With everyone going to bed at different times (the baby, my husband, and I) it is often easy to forget.

How do you encourage unity in your family?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

