Growing in Strength

Reading: “O Ye that Embark,” President Henry B. Eyring of the First Presidency, October 2008 General Conference, Priesthood Session

Yesterday as part of talking about callings, I talked about how sometimes in the past I have felt overwhelmed by my callings.  Usually, for me, this was caused by having to talk in front of people week after week.  In this talk President Eyring offers encouragement for those who are feeling overwhelmed by their priesthood (or in my case, just general life) duties.

President Eyring explains that God expects more of us in order to help us to grow.  He extends us beyond our current capabilities, and then blesses us to increase our abilities to be sufficient for our needs.  President Eyring says,

It is like building muscle strength. You must break down your muscles to build them up. You push muscles to the point of exhaustion. Then they repair themselves, and they develop greater strength. Increased spiritual strength is a gift from God which He can give when we push in His service to our limits. Through the power of the Atonement of Jesus Christ, our natures can be changed. Then our power to carry burdens can be increased more than enough to compensate for the increased service we will be asked to give.

I can think of times in my life when I felt pressed well beyond my abilities.  When I look back on those times, when I was so overwhelmed that I gave up, I continued to have the same problem.  But, when I worked hard to make things work then I grew and eventually the insurmountable problem became sometime I could handle.

Today I woke up kind of sick and feel not so good.  I am tempted to spend the day in bed.  However, instead I’m just going to try and do the best I can with what I am able to do today. I am confident that I will be blessed for my efforts and my strength to handle feeling sick in the future will increase.

What times in your life have you felt pushed beyond your limits, only to later find yourself growing to a greater strength from the experience?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

