Lift Where You Stand

Reading: “Lift Where You Stand,” President Dieter F. Uchtdorf, Second Counselor in the First Presidency, October 2008 General Conference, Priesthood Session

When I was attending BYU-Idaho I once went with my FHE group to one of the weekly FHE question and answer sessions with then-President, now-Elder (apostle) Bednar.  The most memorable question, for me, was when a young woman got up and said that she sometimes felt like she was destined for great things, the implication being a high calling in the church, and asked Elder Bednar what his advice was.  He said firmly that followers of Christ are humble and that it is not good to seek after high offices of the church, but rather those callings go to those who are not seeking them.

In this talk Elder Uchtdorf shares the same message.  He asks us to “lift where we stand” and not to get caught up in seeking after the praise or glory of men. He says,

Brethren, when we stand before the Lord to be judged, will He look upon the positions we have held in the world or even in the Church? Do you suppose that titles we have had other than “husband,” “father,” or “priesthood holder” will mean much to Him? Do you think He will care how packed our schedule was or how many important meetings we attended? Do you suppose that our success in filling our days with appointments will serve as an excuse for failure to spend time with our wife and family?

The Lord judges so very differently from the way we do. He is pleased with the noble servant, not with the self-serving noble.

Because of the way our society works, it is easy to sometimes get the idea that the measure of one’s worthiness and spiritual prowess is found in your church position.  After all, if you are really good at your job you move up and up and are rewarded more and more. When I have found myself starting to think this way it usually makes me feel depressed about my own service.  Because I am so shy I usually struggle with callings that ask me to repeatedly talk in front of people, even kids.  So, I would think, if I struggle with even the smallest of callings, then I must not be very strong spiritually.

I am grateful for talks like this that help us get our minds and hearts back in order.  Our service is not, and should not, be judged by outward recognition or by the “rank” of our calling.  Rather, our service and spiritual worthiness is between us and God.  We can do far more by looking for every opportunity for service, rather than looking for opportunities to be seen serving.

Today, or this weekend, I’m going to try to find some service I can do anonymously.

Do you know people who have been a great blessing in your life but who may not have served in a high ranking position in the church?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

