Sacrament Worthiness

Reading: “Arms of Safety,” Elder Jay E. Jensen of the Presidency of the Seventy, October 2008 General Conference, Priesthood Session

When we partake of the Sacrament, we renew our baptismal covenants.  It is a way for us to gain forgiveness to some degree of sins over the past week.  Since the Sacrament is so important, we should be worthy when we participate in it.  Elder Jensen teaches these things and especially encourages the Aaronic Priesthood holders to show respect for the Sacrament when adminstering it.

One thing that stood out to me is the meaning of the sacrament that Elder Jensen teaches. He says,

Elder Dallin H. Oaks has testified that there is a spiritual cleansing or healing associated with the sacrament: “The sacrament of the Lord’s Supper is a renewal of the covenants and blessings of baptism. We are commanded to repent of our sins and come to the Lord with a broken heart and a contrite spirit and partake of the sacrament. In the partaking of the bread, we witness that we are willing to take upon us the name of Jesus Christ and always remember Him and keep His commandments. When we comply with this covenant, the Lord renews the cleansing effect of our baptism. We are made clean and can always have His Spirit to be with us” (“Special Witnesses of Christ,Liahona, Apr. 2001, 14; Ensign, Apr. 2001, 13).

Elder Jensen’s talk reminded me that the Sacrament is a serious, sacred time and that when I participate I should show the utmost respect.

Usually when I am taking the sacrament I try to pray and think about things in my life I need to improve, or problems I need help with.  Lately, though, I have tended to be a little more casual.  This is in part because I am no longer leading the Sacrament hymn as I was in my old ward before I moved, so I don’t have that reminder.  Also, it is sometimes distracting to have a busy baby who doesn’t want to sit still.  Throw in sometimes getting there late, and it is often hard to really have the right attitude while taking the Sacrament.

Last Sunday we made a special effort to be there early, as I said I would in one of these posts.  We weren’t that early, but it still made a big difference, especially in taking the Sacrament.  This week I’m going to try get us early and also try to really think about the right things while the Sacrament is being passed.

How do you stay focused on the Sacrament when you have distractions, such as little kids to take care of?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

