Praying Every Morning and Every Night

Reading: “Pray Always,” Elder David A. Bednar of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, October 2008 General Conference, Saturday Afternoon Session

Please note that I already wrote about this talk in combination with Elder Bednar’s April conference talk on prayer here.

One of the areas I feel that I could really improve right now is in prayer.  I find that the day-to-day unexpectedness that comes with having a baby, especially in the morning and around bedtime, makes it more difficult for me to remember to pray every morning and every night.  I love to read about prayer because it motivates me to improve in this area.

Elder Bednar suggests that regular prayers are an important part of our relationship with God. He says,

Morning and evening prayers—and all of the prayers in between—are not unrelated, discrete events; rather, they are linked together each day and across days, weeks, months, and even years. This is in part how we fulfill the scriptural admonition to “pray always” (Luke 21:36; 3 Nephi 18:15, 18; D&C 31:12). Such meaningful prayers are instrumental in obtaining the highest blessings God holds in store for His faithful children.

The prayers we say each day are linked as we build upon the work we did the day before.  Saying prayers that include asking for forgiveness for sins and for help to improve help us to really grow from day to day.

Today I am going to make a prayer rock to help me to remember to say my prayers every morning and every night. As I do that, I will try to tie my prayers together as Elder Bednar suggests.

How do you remember your prayers, and how do you make them more meaningful?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

