Building Zion is Up To Us

Reading: “Come to Zion,” Elder D. Todd Christofferson of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, October 2008 General Conference, Saturday Afternoon Session

All throughout the scriptures we hear of Zion, a glorious community of Saints where everyone lives together in peace and no one wants for anything because everyone shares.  Today, we have been told that it is our dispensation that will build Zion up.  Elder Christofferson points this out and then says,

Zion is Zion because of the character, attributes, and faithfulness of her citizens. Remember, “the Lord called his people Zion, because they were of one heart and one mind, and dwelt in righteousness; and there was no poor among them” (Moses 7:18). If we would establish Zion in our homes, branches, wards, and stakes, we must rise to this standard. It will be necessary (1) to become unified in one heart and one mind; (2) to become, individually and collectively, a holy people; and (3) to care for the poor and needy with such effectiveness that we eliminate poverty among us. We cannot wait until Zion comes for these things to happen—Zion will come only as they happen. [emphasis added]

Rather than look forward and say, “Won’t it be nice when we all live in Zion?” we should be saying, “What can I do to bring Zion into being?”

All three of the things he lists are things that I can do right now in my life.  I can become unified in my family by being patient and loving.  I can become unified in my ward by trying harder to get to know the people around me and become friends with them.  I can become a holy person by trying harder to live the gospel of Jesus Christ.  I can care for the poor and needy by sharing both my talents through service and my financial prosperity with others.

Too often I have seen people (including myself) sit by and think, when this happens or when that happens, then everything will be better.  And yet, in truth those things we look forward to, whether it be completing a project, or moving to a new place, or simply getting older, most often do not turn out to be the big change we expected it to be.  The big changes, however, come when we take it upon ourselves to make the changes happen inside of us.  Or, when we go through a circumstance that requires us to change.  To me, Elder Christofferson’s talk was a call to see what we can do now, rather than waiting for the future to come on its own.

Other than generally trying to do the things I listed above, today I am specifically going to organize the pile of boxes in my bedroom that are still there from our move a month and a half ago.  I know this may not seem very spiritual, but I have been wanting to get our home settled and organized for many weeks and it has been too easy to put that project off. When I do, my home will be more peaceful and inviting, which is important for my family.  Rather than just look forward to the day in the future when my home is what I want it to be, I am going to work today to bring that future to pass.

What can you do to bring Zion into being right now?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

