Jesus Christ is the Only Path to Happiness

Reading: “The Way,” Elder Lawrence E. Corbidge of the Seventy, October 2008 General Conference, Saturday Afternoon Session

The Savior Jesus Christ is the center of our worship.  This is because everything we are and do is possible through him.  Through the Atonement, we are able to repent and to return to the presence of God.  Elder Corbidge’s talk is a beautiful reminder of these important truths.

One thing that I especially appreciated was his pointing out that everyone is able to obtain the blessings of the gospel.  He says,

While the Lord’s invitation to follow Him is the highest of all, it is also achievable by everyone, not because we are able, but because He is, and because He can make us able too. “We believe that through the Atonement of Christ, all mankind [everyone, living and dead] may be saved, by obedience to the laws and ordinances of the Gospel.” (3rd Article of Faith)

We are dependent on the Savior for everything, even our own ability to repent.  And, we need not feel hopeless because the Savior will help us to overcome our weaknesses.

I have written several times now about perfectionism.  When we are perfectionists  we demand that we be perfect now, instead of allowing God to help us to become better over time.  The Savior wants us to be perfect eventually, and he is willing to help us if we but ask and are ready to receive his help.  Perfectionism is something I often struggle with, so every reminder that God wants to help me better over time is encouraging and uplifting.

When I was a teenager I came up with several goals for my life, including getting married in the temple and graduating from college, and then set out how to achieve those goals.  Since I’ve achieved most of those, I think today I will sit down and write down goals for the next 10-20 years of my life and think about how to achieve them.  They may be obvious, but by thinking about them actively I will be better able to achieve them.

There was a lot in Elder Corbidge’s talk, and I just focused on one thing that meant a lot to me.  What stood out to you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

