The Book of Mormon

Reading: “Because My Father Read the Book of Mormon,” Elder Marcos A. Aidukaitis of the Seventy, October 2008 General Conference, Saturday Morning Session

Before Elder Aidukaitis was born, his father chose to read the Book of Mormon.  He gained a testimony that it was true, and because of that chose to join the church despite some negative consequences.  This choice affected Elder Aidukaitis entire life, eventually leading to his current service in the church.  Indeed, his father’s choice affected everyone who listened to general conference in a small way as we were all able to hear Elder Aidukaitis’s talk about the Book of Mormon.

So, today, I just want to share a short testimony of the Book of Mormon, mostly geared towards those who haven’t read it yet.

I know that the Book of Mormon is true. There are a lot of people who have called me stupid to my face for believing it.  That doesn’t really bother me that much, but I just want to let anyone who reads this know that I’m not some brainwashed barefoot housewife in a compound somewhere who has never known anything else. I’m an educated, analytical, modern woman who is engaged in and aware of the world around her.  And yet, my testimony of the Book of Mormon has only gotten much stronger the more education I obtain and the more I see of the world.  I know it is true because I’ve read it many times and I am continually using and testing the principles that it teaches and finding them to be real and true.

If you want a free copy of the Book of Mormon please visit mormon.org

Right now I’m focusing my study on General Conference.  But, after this I think I will be reading the Book of Mormon again, at least in my free time if not as part of this blog.

How has reading the Book of Mormon affected your life?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

