Stress Management

Reading: “Dealing With Stress and Discouragement,” Ensign, Feb. 1990

Yesterday we found out that we got the apartment we were hoping to get, and we will be able to move tomorrow evening.  As of this moment, I have not even started to pack.  While I’m very happy to be moving to a new place, it is also scary to face such a big change.  Moving is stressful.  So, today I read an article on how to deal with stress.

The article, which does not have an author listed, suggests several ways to deal with or reduce stress:

  • Be realistic in your expectations
  • Keep spiritually fit
  • Get out of debt
  • Set priorities and goals
  • Change habits and routines
  • Change your pace
  • Share your frustrations with friends or in a journal
  • Relax and enjoy life
  • Don’t forget humor

As a former sufferer of an anxiety disorder, I also have found many ways that are essential to me in dealing with stress.  These include:

  • Exercise
  • Purposeful relaxation (a.k.a. conscious relaxation, meditation, visualization, self-hypnosis, choose whatever name makes you feel most comfortable)
  • Journal writing
  • Daily scripture study
  • A good night’s sleep
  • Regular, healthy meals
  • Realizing that it’s perfectly okay to feel stressed out sometimes (or not getting stressed about being stressed)
  • Being willing to ask for help (whether it is help getting a problem taken care of, or professional help to overcome depression or anxiety)

One thing this article stated that I thought was a good point was that stress can be good for us, if we approach problems as challenges and if we do not try to do too much. I know I am much happier when I am enjoying a challenge than when I am bored with nothing to do.

Normally I would have tried to find an article that is more scripture based.  This article seemed more like a compendium of advice than an explanation of some scriptural topic.  However, it did fit what I needed to hear today.  So, today, I’m going to continue to give myself a break – we have a lot to do and not a lot of time to do it!  It will be better if I relax and maybe let a few things slide than trying to do everything perfect in the limited time I have.

How do you deal with stress?  Everybody has different ways of relaxing, and what works for me may not work for you.  Still, if you’ve found some great way to deal with stress I’d love to hear it!

4 comments so far

  1. Michaela Stephens on

    One effective way I’ve found of dealing with stress is to make sure that I serve the Lord first in the day. I give Him the first priority by reading my scriptures and having family scripture study and family prayer. Then I try to blog about some insight I’ve found in the scriptures. After that, I start attacking everything else and somehow things seem to work out.

    Heavenly Father has blessed me in a variety of ways when I do this. I’ve had school assignment due dates unexpectedly pushed back. I’ve had miracles that allow me to accomplish multiple things quickly. I’ve had large computer networks fail in such a way that more time is gained. I’ve had helpful people show up right when they are needed. I’ve been inspired with time-saving strategies. I’ve been given better technological tools.

  2. Signe on

    I’d love to learn to deal with stress better, so I may not be the greatest example! In church, I’m the primary president so Sundays are busy and stressful (dh is in bishopric, child in nursery, one in primary, one baby). I try to do as much as possible on Saturday…pack diaper bag, make sure #2 child has breakfast in bag in case we have to rush out, kids get baths, clothes set out, etc…This greatly reduces my stress and allows me to deal with surprise stressful moments much easier.
    So…long story short…I think planning and preparing goes a long way to reduce and deal with stresses.

  3. marlajayne on

    When I get really overwhelmed, I remind myself that “this too shall pass.” Although I’m paraphrasing, one of my mother’s favorites scriptures was something like, “Weeping endureth for the night, but joy cometh in the morning,” and to me that’s yet another way of saying that this too shall pass.

    Also, I’ve learned to say a resounding YES to the things that bring joy and a strong NO to the things that add more burnout, stress, and overstretching of the mind and body.

  4. Dale Fletcher on

    Hi,

    Thanks for the post on stress. I thought that you’d want to read a few posts I have recently made on the topic. See the link below.

    Be blessed,

    Dale
    http://www.faithandhealthconnection.org/category/stress/


Leave a Reply

