Spiritual Preparation

Reading: “Spritual Preparedness: Start Early and Be Steady,” Henry B. Eyring, Liahona, Nov 2005

Preparedness extends beyond preparing for natural disasters, Elder Eyring states in this article.  While the church does encourage us to prepare for physical needs in the future, it is even more important to prepare spiritually for trials that may come.  He said:

So, the great test of life is to see whether we will hearken to and obey God’s commands in the midst of the storms of life. It is not to endure storms, but to choose the right while they rage.

If we are going to succeed in overcoming our trials, we must be prepared before they come.  I witnessed this yesterday.  We are working on moving to another apartment, and the past few days have been pretty busy.  In fact, the past few weeks have been busy, and I have not been taking care of myself like I should.  Because I had not been taking care of myself, this week has been a lot harder than it could have been.  I was not prepared for the trial when it came.

There are four areas that Elder Eyring suggests we prepare now rather than later:

  1. Studying the scriptures
  2. Praying regularly and sincerely
  3. Paying tithing
  4. Repenting of any sins that trouble us

The thing that Elder Eyring emphasizes over and over again in this talk is that we must be early and consistent in our efforts to really gain the benefits.  One example I thought applied well to me personally is that it is so much easier to pay tithing when you pay it right away, and when all your other finances are in order.  When you get behind, though, it is so much harder to catch up than it would have been to just keep up.

I was definitely inspired by this talk to be more consistent in those areas he mentioned.  Oftentimes I have good intentions, but procrastination gets the best of me.  Elder Eyring said,

Learning to start early and to be steady are the keys to spiritual preparation. Procrastination and inconsistency are its mortal enemies.

A lot of times when I write my resolution for the day, I forget about it and don’t think about it until the next day.  So, today my resolution is to work on my resolution right away rather than later.  Or, if that’s not possible, to do it at my first opportunity.

How do you fight off procrastination?  What helps you to be more consistent in the daily spritual stuff?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

