Communicating with God Through Prayer

Reading: “The Lifeline of Prayer,” James E. Faust, Liahona, Jul 2002

In this talk President Faust talked about the various aspects of prayer.  He encourages us to pray sincerely, and bears testimony of the help that prayer has been in his own life and the lives of others.

He brifely listed five things that prayer is.

  1. A humble acknowledgment that God is our Father and that Jesus Christ is our Savior and Redeemer.
  2. A sincere confession of sin and an asking of forgiveness.
  3. Recognition that we need help beyond our own ability.
  4. An opportunity to express thanksgiving to God.
  5. A privilege to ask God for specific blessings.

I remember as a child hearing someone say that when you pray, whatever you ask for you will receive.  At the time I really wanted a bike and I envisioned myself saying a fervent prayer for a bike and it appearing on my doorstep the next morning.

Later, as a teenager, I remember experiencing a particularly hard week.  In that week I asked for many things.  Later, I realized after reflecting that I received an answer or help with every thing I prayed for, although often in ways I did not expect.  It was a testimony to me that God hears my prayers.

Later, I realized that prayer is about much more than asking for things.  It is a communication with God about all aspects of our lives and relationship with Him, like in President Faust’s list.  Asking for specific blessings is only a small part, and often the answer to those kind of requests come in unexpected ways.  Sometimes the answer is no, or you really need this, or you must do this to obtain this blessing, and so on.

Today when I pray I’m going to try to really talk to God in my prayers.  Rather than going through a laundry list, I’ll try to really talk about what I’m sorry for, what I’m greatful for, and what I feel I need as if I was talking to God in person.

Is there anything that you do that helps you to feel closer to God when you pray?

1 comment so far

  1. Communicating with God on

    I appreciate your thoughts on prayer.

    I would add one thing to the list however.

    When we pray, we need to take time to ‘pause’, and listen intently for that still small voice.

    God is always speaking to us; the problem however, is that we often fail to hear His words because we don’t take time to listen.

    Instead, we repent, praise Him, ask for things, and repent some more. But how much time do we spend listening for His voice?

    The Bible says, ‘Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.'(Jeremiah 33:3 NKJV)

    It’s not enough to just call out to God; we must also take time to listen for His response to us.

    Blessings to you as you continue to share such thoughtful words in the name of Jesus Christ!

    –Chris Esty


Leave a Reply

