Prayer is Work

Reading: “Ask in Faith,” Elder David A. Bednar, Ensign, May 2008

Elder Bednar gave a beautiful talk on meaningful prayer at our last general conference.  In it he talked about how to give more meaningful prayers, and how doing so will greatly improve our lives and spirituality.

One thing he mention is that we must do more than just pray for what we need, we must also do what we can to obtain the blessing we seek.  He said,

True faith is focused in and on the Lord Jesus Christ and always leads to righteous action.

If we merely pray for a think but then do nothing on our own to obtain it, we are not really praying in faith.

He also talked about how prayer is a form of work-that it is also the action that come from faith.  Since prayer is work, he reasons, when we work for what we have prayed we are continuing the work of prayer.

I long have been impressed with the truth that meaningful prayer requires both holy communication and consecrated work. Blessings require some effort on our part before we can obtain them, and prayer, as “a form of work, … is an appointed means for obtaining the highest of all blessings” (Bible Dictionary, “Prayer,” 753). We press forward and persevere in the consecrated work of prayer, after we say “amen,” by acting upon the things we have expressed to Heavenly Father.

Thinking about prayer as work also made me think about the prayers in my own life.  Sometimes I say prayers for things as I encounter the problems, but then forget to pray about that thing at the beginning or close of my day.  Part of the work I must do is to do better at remembering to say my prayers at the appointed times.  When I do that I am working towards obtaining the blessings I need all throughout my day.

So, I’m going to do better at saying my prayers.  I’ve found that after I’ve had a baby it is harder to remember to pray each morning and night because those times are often focused around the baby.  So, today I’m going to try to think of ways to be more regular in my prayers even when I have a baby to take care of.

How do you remember to say prayers each morning and night?  How does saying or not saying prayers morning and evening affect you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

