A Word of Encouragement for Young Mothers

Reading: “Daughters of God,” Elder Ballard, General Conference April 2008

Last conference I, with probably about every other mom in the whole church, really loved Elder Ballard’s talk directed to young mothers.  It was a very affirming talk and came at a time when I was just trying to figure out what I was supposed to be doing with this mother thing.

Elder Ballard gave specific reccommendation for mothers, hubands, children, and the church on how to support mothers.

His advice to mothers was:

  • Recognize the joy of motherhood comes in moments.  He quoted Anna Quinded as saying, “I wish I had treasured the doing a little more and the getting it done a little less.”
  • Don’t overschedule yourselves or your children.
  • Find time to renew yourself.
  • Pray, study, and teach the gospel.

His advice to husbands was:

  • Show extra appreciation and give more validation for what your wife does every day.
  • Have a regular time to talk to your wife about each child’s needs.
  • Give your wife a “day away” every now and then.

His advice to children was:

  • Do small chores without being asked.
  • Say thank you more often.
  • Tell your mother you love her more often.

His advice to the church was:

  • Be careful not to overload young mothers in what you ask them to do for the church

He also stated, “No role in life more essential and more eternal than that of motherhood.”

The advice he gives for young mothers that I struggle the most with is overscheduling.  Every day I feel like I have more to do than can ever be done.  We are not yet into the scheduled tasks exactly, but there is always a huge pile of things I would like to do that I just don’t have time for.  So, today, I’m going to ponder what is most important and try to prioritize my activities as such.  And, I’m going to try and take more joy in the doing than in getting it done.

If you’re a mom, what does your family do that really helps you?  Or, if you’re a husband or a son, what do you do for the mom in your life that helps her, or what could you do?

1 comment so far

  1. marlajayne on

    Refreshing post. One of the many things I love about the church is that the teachings have such application to everyday living; it’s not a Sunday religion, that’s for sure. Another plus is that women are valued and respected. I know that not all husbands, sons, fathers, etc. treat the ladies in their lives the way they’ve been instructed to, but it’s not because church leaders haven’t gotten the word to them. I used to love to hear President Hinckley’s remarks about the women of the church.


Leave a Reply

